Mary Kathleen Mine
Township & Open Cut Mine
Approximately 68km from Cloncurry
The township of Mary Kathleen was first settled during the 1860s. Uranium was first discovered at Mary Kathleen by Clem Walton and Norm McConachy in 1954, and the deposit and the township were named after the late wife of McConachy.
Prospecting and exploitation rights were subsequently onsold, and in 1955, Rio Tinto Mining formed Mary Kathleen Uranium Ltd to develop a mine and service town. An architect-designed town grew during 1956-58, with reticulated water from a dam, Lake Corella.
4WD capable or a high clearance vehicle is required to reach the mine!
Mary Kathleen Day Tours
Town Site & Mine Tour
Regular Weekly Services Coming Soon
2024 departure dates and prices coming soon.
"Let our experienced guide take you through the unique and picturesque township of Mary Kathleen."
This is an iconic, historical area of the Cloncurry region, with more than 8000 tons of uranium oxide (also known as yellowcake), extracted from the Argylla Ranges mine before it closed in the early 1980s.
Workers of the mine lived in the township of Mary Kathleen. The town was built in less than five years to accommodate a population of up to 1200 people. It was made up mostly of mine employees and their families.
Departs & Returns From Mary Kathleen Museum and Visitors Information Centre, Cloncurry